I just posted/sent an essay/newsletter (yeah, I’m not sure how to call what just yet) that starts with the line:

I’m a writer.

It took until I saw the email land in my inbox to realize something. That’s the first time I’ve written that line for public consumption. I’ve been saying it for a while, mostly in response to the question, “So, what do you do?” since it’s actually more straightforward than trying to explain content marketing or executive ghostwriting.

Imposter syndrome?

I’m sure that’s part of it. But I feel like a bigger part is that I’m still in shock and awe that I can say I write for a living (no, the irony of currently being “between jobs” is not lost). After making the career jump I talk about in that piece, I wrestled with what to call myself for, well, years before finally coming up with a pitch version. I’ve already forgotten what that pitch was. Now, I just say, “I’m a writer,” and let the questioner figure out their next question. And if they don’t, cool, at least they know what I know.

I’m a writer.

(I am, however, still working out what posts show up where, so apologies if you see dups. And finally, if you’d like to discuss brand marketing and/or executive ghostwriting, I am working with private clients and would love to chat!)